About The Bahamas

The "700" Islands of the Bahamas

The Bahamas is an archipelago of over 700 islands stretching over 100,000 square miles in the Western Atlantic Ocean. The word Bahamas comes from the Spanish words 'baja mar' which means shallow sea. The Bahama Islands became the free and sovereign Commonwealth of The Bahamas on 10th July 1973 ending 325 years of British rule -- though it still remains part of the Commonwealth